Fitness

Fitness Friday #1

2015 has been the year of me focusing on myself and my health.  Late 2014 was a big wake up call for me.  I was unhappy with how I looked and felt.  I was uncomfortable and would worry about going out with friends because I felt like I had nothing to wear.  One thing I will say is I have amazingly supportive friends and family, especially my boyfriend.  They always made me feel good about myself and I never had anyone putting my down.  When January hit I had just gotten back from a cruise (food over load) and knew it was time for a change.  I wanted to love my body and take care of it because if I’m not going to who is?  This was for myself, not anyone else and I think that is why it finally stuck.  Since then I have lost 35 pounds and am still on this fitness journey.  I eat to fuel my body and tell myself it is okay to enjoy some not so healthy meals every once in a while in moderation because this is a life choice, not a crazy diet.  I also workout regularly and make my workouts fun and being active a part of my lifestyle.  Part of all this is cooking up fun healthy meals for my boyfriend and I and our friends when they come over. I also love looking into great meals to have during the week.  I love anything that is quick and easy since usually during the work week I don’t have a lot of spare time so it makes it easier to stay on track.  Here are a couple of my favorite meals and snacks I have been loving!

Kodiak Pancakes with Egg Whites– These are absolutely amazing.  Great in protein and low in fat and sugar.  They fuel me and get my day started and are very easy to make.  I usually make a big batch at the beginning of the week and just heat them up in the morning on my way to work. 

Quinoa and Chicken Salads– So yummy and fresh! I pack these for my lunches for work and you can throw anything in them.  Spinach, tomatoes, avocado, asparagus…. the list could go on and on! Really whatever you have on hand to have a good balanced lunch to get you through the day!

Homemade Pizza… Yes. Pizza. – Trust me when I say I could eat pizza every day. It is my ultimate weakness! I just choose not to so I can really enjoy it when I do have it.  One way I have helped myself with this craving is to make my own. It has so much more nutrition and I can modify it and know exactly what’s in it!  I love trying to find little hacks to my favorite foods that aren’t so healthy so I can have them more often and not feel guilty. I use whole wheat pizza dough, Fat Free mozzarella cheese and any toppings I’m loving. Pepperoni (a little splurge but sometimes you have to!), bell pepper, onion, spinach and more!  I also make my own sauce which is easy and really makes a difference. It is also great to do with friends! You can all make your own together instead of going out and make a fun night of it!

 

Greek Yogurt & Granola or Avocado Toast- Snacks on snacks on snacks! I try to eat smaller portions more often throughout the day. Usually about 3 hours between meals and these are two of my favorites.  They are delicious, healthy and easy. Plain and simple

I would love to hear what some of your favorite staple meals are for during the week or the weekend!

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday #1

Leave a Reply

