Blog Swap

Blog Swap! Transitioning to Your Big Girl Job

Hello there!

It’s that time of the month again. OMG. No, not that time ladies! I’m talking Blog Swapping day with the lovely miss Kaitlyn! She’s hanging out at my blog today, and I’m here! Lucky for you! Make sure you go check out what she’s sharing today on my blog!

Anyway, today I’m talking about transitioning over to your “Big Girl” job. For those of you that know me, I went from Badass Bartender to Noob Office Girl. Exciting. But that was the new big girl job. The 8 to 5, Monday through Friday job. That was the goal. Weekends and nights off. I did it! But man, talk about your culture shock!

Language. Bartending language is totally not kosher in the office. People don’t cuss and you can’t excessively make fun of your coworkers and customers in the office. Holy shit. Better show some R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

Clothing. I wore one dress my second week and then I got pulled aside to tell me it was too short. I was MORTIFIED. I never wore a dress again. Okay, that’s not necessarily true, but I didn’t wear a dress again unless it was below the knee. Also, it’s annoying to have to pick out an outfit everyday. It was so much easier when I had a uniform to put on everyday.

Lunch hour. What? You get an entire hour for lunch? What the hell are you suppose to do with an entire lunch? I mean, should I workout, go shopping, run errands, go home? What the hell do I do with all this time. I’m used to squeezing in a couple bites between drink pouring and then waiting 4 hours to eat a sandwich that is completely cold now.

That 3 o’clock feeling hits hard. I’ve seen commercials when they talk about the “3 o’clock” feeling…Must. Stay. Caffeinated. Must. Stay. Awake. I will admit, I did a few too many head nods my first couple weeks from exhaustion and boredom!

img_2355

The temperature is never right. It’s freezing cold during the summer and then most days. And then it’s way overheated during the winter. It’s almost like the smallest cloud makes the heater turn on. But then if it’s clear skies, that air is blasting! I didn’t realize I would have to bring a sweater and gloves everyday, just to be prepared!

img_2357

Desk decorations. I’ve seen plenty of movies where people have their desks decorated, or they bring in a box of their personal things on the first day so they can set up their desk. No one told me how awkward that would be. Almost 2 years into my “big girl” job and I still have to personal belongings. Wait, no, I have a pen that looks like a cat and two photo strips. How embarrassing to look like you’re moving in to your new desk? Awkward. For me at least. Because I can turn anything into an awkward situation.

Birthdays are a big deal. I never knew that desk decorating for your coworkers’ birthday was such a big thing. It’s very important. People go ALL out. It’s incredible and almost weird at the same time.

Drama free. My ass! When I first started in the office, it was like a breath of fresh air. Ahhhhh, everyone is an adult and mature and speaks respectfully and just handles situations like adults should. No more hormonal-early-twenties coworkers crying and being pissy everyday. Fast forward a year…oh WAIT. It’s freaking nuts how much office drama there is. Like, it’s UNREAL. I just didn’t see it initially because I was the new girl. Who’s going to tell the new girl a bunch of shit about their coworkers?

There’s plenty of time for workplace selfies. Sometimes you just need a break. So I break out my selfie mode when I’m alone in the department. Why not? And then you bring out Snapchat and send goofy filtered pictures to your girls that are stuck in their offices elsewhere!

img_2358

Anyhow, what experiences have you had with your “adult” job? Have any of you had an immense shock of culture like me? Makes the days pretty interesting though…

6 thoughts on “Blog Swap! Transitioning to Your Big Girl Job

  1. I’ve worked in enough different offices to know that each office has its own culture. My current office culture was a pretty big shock to my system, plus I missed my kids (I used to just work part-time), so I cried at my desk every day for the first few weeks, even though I was used to office jobs. Now that I’m used to it, it’s fine, although I do wish my co-worker who talks constantly about really boring things (the table decorations on her daughter’s graduation party…) would stop it. No big deal in the grand scheme of things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. Oh that’s so sad about missing your kids!! I bet that was tough!! For me it was the difference between being on my feet all day talking to customers and then going to the desk chair all day in front of a computer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

